First Moon Forever 18

“Last night was amazing!” I squealed, pouncing on Liliana. She woke up in surprise. 

“Oh my Gods. What time is it?” She groaned. 

“Ummm… nine?”

“Nine? How are you even awake, not to mention this hyper?”

“I dunno? I woke up and was still really happy?”  She laughed softly. 

“Good. I would’ve been more worried if you actually were sleeping in today. So… how do you feel?” She looked me over as she spoke. 

“I feel great. Yuki did is… sleeping?”

“Yuki?” Her head cocked. 

“Yea, I realized it was really weird that all I could call the wolf girl was… the wolf girl. So I thought Yuki would be good? She reminds me of the little girl in ‘Wolf Children’ and she liked it, so that’s what we’re going with. Did you name your wolf? Oh! Do we only change once a month or…like how does it work?” I know I was going too fast, but I was still super hyped from the night before and couldn’t help it. 

“Hold on, hold on.” She got out of bed and it was then that I really realized she wasn’t wearing anything. Involuntarily I let out a low growl as I looked her over. “Down girl. I don’t have the energy you do right now, but later you’re going to pay for waking me up. For now…” She took my hand and stood me up. “We get breakfast.”

Leading me down the hall I could smell the bacon and sausage already. “First off… I never named my wolf. She’s always been more in the background. I know she’s there, but all she shows herself as is instinct. Before you get worried, no it isn’t odd that your wolf has been this vivid and vocal. She seems to also be the inner child you’ve repressed for so long. That reminds me… your job? Does it make you happy?”

“Well…no I guess?” I hadn’t really expected such a huge switch in topics. “Why?”

“Quit. You’ll have to at some point down the road anyways and if you’re not happy, that isn’t good. What have you always wanted to do?”

I stopped just outside the dining room. I honestly had to think about it. There was never one thing that felt like the perfect job for me. Everything I had done so far had just been because it was available when I needed something, but I did realize the last thing that I really enjoyed. “Well… I’ve always wanted to make people happy? Like create things or something like that? There’s never been like, one thing? But different creative things? Writing? Drawing? I thought I could be a director or actor or something at one point?”

“So… content creator. You don’t have to limit yourself to just one thing. You have all the time you could want to just try things. I’ll have Maribelle help you figure things out. No unhappy wolves in my pack and no unhappy babies in my family.” With that she pinched my cheek with a cheesy grin and picked me up despite our height difference. “Morning Winifred.” She chimed as the older woman came in to me being sat in a booster seat. 

Winnie rolled her eyes and suddenly Liliana looked to be about five. “What have I told you about that name?”

Liliana let out a squeak. “Sorry sorry sorry, I’ll stop.” And Liliana lifted her magic. 

“Good. Now if you’re done being sassy?” She eyed me and I felt like the world was growing around me. Suddenly the booster seat was much more comfortable. “Enjoy your day little one.”

<Edited by @Aliceko_chan over on Twitter!>

Leave a comment