First Moon Forever 10

With a ding the doors slid open to reveal the lobby. I took a deep breath and padded out. With each little step I took, the cartoonish plush tail swayed back and forth, the ears flopped on top of my head, and I crinkled for all to hear. Of course, everyone was just the receptionist and the pizza girl across the lobby, but it was enough. I was sure they could hear it. Though if they could they made no sign that they could. 


I waddled my way over to the girl waiting for me with my pizza. She stifled a giggle and smiled at me. “You Rachel?” I nodded blushing as the ears flopped like mad, she wasn’t able to stifle her giggles this time. “I’m sorry, you’re just so cute and I wasn’t ready. I’ve delivered for cosplayers before, but there’s just something different about you.”


I squirmed in place. “T-thank you!” My voice squeaked out, only making her grin widen. I held out the cash I had come down with. “I figured a cash tip was better than the app.”


“Oh! Yea, thanks! Here you are sweetie.” She handed me my pizza and wings as I grew even redder. She was at least five years younger than me, but she was treating me like she knew I was dipping my toes into the kiddie pool, so to speak. I gave her a little wave and turned to head back upstairs, but she leaned in behind me and gave my butt a little pat.


“Tell your mommy hi for me.” She whispered and my eyes went wide. She did know!? How did she know? My mind raced until it hit me. I could feel her. “There she goes, run along you smart little puppy.” I swallowed hard, nodded and trotted back to the elevator now fully aware she heard each little crinkle as well as I did. Taping the up button I peeked back to see her still waving at me. 


I wrinkled my nose and thought to tell her ‘thank you’ again. Her eyes were the ones to go wide this time. Confused, I titled my head. She mouthed ‘you’re welcome’. She had heard me thinking at her?  This was all so new and exciting. If her reaction was any indication, it was new to her too. When the doors opened, I bounced into the elevator excited to tell Liliana about my first interaction with someone else from the pack. 


~~~~~~~~~~~


Liliana had been already giggling when I walked in the door. I stuck my tongue out at her and pretended to be huffy which only made her laugh more. When I brought up that the girl, Marsha, had been able to hear me thinking at her, she stopped giggling and got very curious. 


“You mean that isn’t normal?” I asked, unsure how I could’ve done something new. 


“Honestly, no. Typically it takes through the first Moon for new wolves to tap into pack magic. For you to already feel them was interesting as is, but this is above and beyond anything that’s been seen.” She sounded proud of me which just made me wiggle my butt happily. She chuckled and took the food and put it on the table. “Okay, let’s eat before the food gets cold.”


“Alright.” I sat down and opened the pizza box and snagged a slice. Taking a big bite, the cheese dripped and stretched. “Mmmmmm! Oh gah! You were riiight! It’s so good!” She chucked again, taking a slice herself. I cocked my head. “How did Marsha know?”


She almost dropped the pizza from laughing too much. “Oh my gosh, I called her after you left the room!” I gave her a pout hoping there had been some other pack magic to it. “I told you, your gift is unique, you’re my special little girl.”

<Edited by @Aliceko_chan over on Twitter!>

Leave a comment