Future Derailed: Page 10

Namine creaked the door open to see Jessie asleep, curled up around one of the big teddy bears from the nursery. She must have slipped down there to grab it last night. Seeing her snuggled up with the big plushie, pink hair a mess and engulfed in the sleep shirt she had borrowed for the night, the wolf felt her motherly instincts welling back back up. She pushed them back. The little bunny didn’t need that right now, she needed someone to help her think through a very serious situation. 

While Namine stood in the doorway, Jessie let out a yawn and started stretching. “Good morning Jess, sleep well?” The rabbit squeaked and her eyes shot open, but the sudden fear subsided as she took in her surroundings. 

“Yea, thank you.” She suddenly looked very shy at that moment, noticing she was still hugging the big bear. Slowly Jessie pushed herself up. “This is weird right? Like… me being here still? I could leave. I probably should have, but I feel safe… is this Stockholm Syndrome?” She had a grin now, but it struck the wolf, was it? If it was, she was going to make sure this new trust was deserved. 

“How about you get up and ready for the day? Your old clothes are on the dresser.” She nodded her head to the side in emphasis. “When you’re ready I’ll be in the kitchen. We can have breakfast and talk if you feel up to it.” With an uncertain smile, Namine headed downstairs. 

~~~~~~~~~~~

Jessie hopped from the bed and grabbed a pair of skinny jeans and a band tee from her bag before heading to the bathroom to shower. 

~~~~~~~~~~~

Sometime later the bunny made her way into the kitchen, back to looking like the little scene kid she had been years ago. Her Hoverboard Kickflip t-shirt tattered from years of love. But she was comfortable. 

“So… were you serious about shopping and stuff? I’ve… I’ve kind of daydreamed of having someone go with me to help pick stuff out… I’ve never even known where to start or what sizes I would need or…” Jessie bit her lip as a plate of French toast was put in front of her.

“Of course I’ll take you shopping and help you in anyway I can. But first, I’m sorry for how we came into each other’s lives… The guys I usually do this to… they’ve always been dicks.  You’re different. Despite everything, you never tried to hurt me. At some point… I… I thought of you as more my baby than one I was training for someone else. The way Patricia wrote about you, she made you out to be a violent, narcissistic monster. If that was even remotely true, you’re an amazing actor and I’m a fool, but I’m going to trust you like you’ve trusted me and we can see where we go from there.” Namine looked truly regretful for everything. Jessie sat her fork down and for a long moment said nothing. 

“Despite everything… I’m glad you kidnapped me. It might’ve been exactly the push I needed to finally stop fighting who I really am…” With tears in her eyes, the rabbit looked to Namine with a sweet smile.

<Edited by @Aliceko_chan over on Twitter!> 

Leave a comment