Displayed – Page 9

The kitten’s face went pink again. Nozomi felt her heart sink. She had done it again. She had overstepped Ko’s boundaries. Nozomi was about to apologize when she caught purring. She looked to the smilodon to see the kitten that had been hiding peeking through.

“Ko, how are you feeling?”

With a soft mewl Ko managed to say; “I’m… I’m good…” There was a much softer tone to her voice that Nozomi picked up on immediately. 

“Kitten, would you like to scoot closer? I can help you with the rest of your lunch.”

Without hesitation Koneko moved over to the seat next to the mouse. Nozomi smiled as she fed Ko the rest of her pho. This was such a change from the girl who had almost had a panic attack the night before. It was very encouraging and made her go into caretaker mode. 

“Zozo? Is that you?”, came a voice from behind them. Nozomi knew exactly who it was, and by the way Koneko froze, she wasn’t sure Ko was ready for this big personality. As she was having that thought the pink haired yellow lab strode over and sat in Ko’s original seat. She took the kitten in and made a fake sad face. “Zozo? Have you found a replacement to watch wrestling with? I know I’ve been busy, but damn girl. That hurts.” 

Her expression instantly changed as she started to chuckle at Ko’s very shy look. “So what’s your name honey? I’m Lisa.”, the lab excitedly said as she extended a hand to Ko, who managed to shake it as she searched for her words. 

“I… I’m Ko. N- nice to meet you Lisa.” 

Leave a comment